You Are Where You Eat!

Come join me for haggis, tatties and neeps. Or perhaps, a lobster roll is more to your liking. Maybe it’s TexMex? Yum!!!  There is always jambalaya, etouffee, or boiled crawfish.  Catfish and hushpuppies anyone?  Escargot and a big bowel of ratatouille?  Ravioli and a great bottle of wine, not to mention hot baguette!

Come over to my house on a Friday night and experience Matzo Ball Soup, gefilte fish (homemade, of course) and a crusty fresh baked challah. Or perhaps on the table will be a hearty cholent and kishka.  It’s all good!

Enough already, this is making me hungry.

More than just names of places can provide clues as to locations and cultures. There is more to describing a local than giving the name of the town, or country and or streets.  Food is what makes the world go around.

There might be a restaurant in New York or London where you can have a home-style meal of haggis, tatties and neeps. Yet, if you found yourself in a book, preparing to eat haggis, tatties and neeps you might realize you are in Scotland.

Conversely, a good lobster roll is typically found on the east coast. Just as Conch Fritters might be most commonly eaten in southern Florida.

Not only does food highlight a location, it also is a non-removable component of culture.

If you remember the movie, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Nia Vardalos’ character ‘Toula’ explains to John Corbett’s character ‘Ian’ exactly how important food is to a Greek family.  You see my point!

Of course, when I watched that movie with my friends we laughed and said it could have been called “My Big Fat Jewish Wedding” and the characters and the importance of food would have been the same.  I have heard this same comment from friends who are of other cultures. Yet the focus is about food…and family.

So, if you come to my house, you will be fed!  As my mother always says, “G-D forbid you should leave my house hungry!”

I agree…just don’t tell her I do!

Thank you for your time and as always “Keep Reading!”

Raj Lowenstein

www.rajlowenstein.net

 

Leave a Reply

